‘Incision’ (Beyond the Surface)

FOR SALE

Acrylic on Canvas, 120cm x 120cm

4 comments
  1. Nick said:

    First and foremost, as far as I’m concerned this sits outside everything you’ve produced before, and I like it. Your use of colours is intriguing, as are the forms you’ve crafted them in.

    Two things I find interesting about this piece:
    i.) the quantity of blue ‘incisions’
    ii.) the way the yellow ‘release splashes’ (which I associate with the extraction of infection), seem to bear to correlation to the ‘incisions’.

  2. Nick said:

    … shame on me for not reading what I write before I click ‘submit comment’…

    The last statement was meant to be:
    ii.) the way the yellow ‘release splashes’ (which I associate with the extraction of infection), seem to bear NO correlation to the ‘incisions’.

  3. Julie said:

    This work is about my perception of my surgery.

    The blue slashes do not represent ‘incisions’ -they’re sensations I ‘saw’ while having surgery – in the case of the blue slashes – the chiseling and drilling of bone and the deep and painful injections I had.

    The yellow does partially represent the infection but is more about my perception of the surgery itself and the splashing and dabing that went on and the nasty bugs whizzing about spreading pain.

    The title ‘Incision’ is more about the release of pain and infection

    Sounds gruesome – but it wasn’t!!

    This isn’t a very good reproduction of the painting as it’s difficult to see the detail.

  4. carole said:

    The blue colour is gorgeous (on my screen anyway).

    It seems to me like the things you see in front of your eyes when your eyes are closed and you are under some sort of stress – blood, and sharp dots of coloured light.

    I’d love to be able to see the detail, layers and textures which I know will not be visible in the reproduction.

Leave a Reply

